How pregnant am I?

As many of you will know, we are expecting squidge 2.0, due sometime in February (apparently on squidge 1.0’s birthday…but he was late, so who knows). 

Today, I am 24 weeks pregnant. 24 weeks, in my head, equates to roughly 6 months. But I still have 4 months to go, so that can’t be right. Pregnancy only lasts 9. I’m 24 weeks through the 40 allocated for pregnancy (give or take)…but for the first 2 (at least), I wasn’t even pregnant. Thanks to the medical world for that one. So I’m actually 22 weeks through 38 weeks, which sounds more like 5 months. This makes sense because pregnancy lasts 9, right? 5 down, 4 to go. But then add on those other 2 weeks and I’m suddenly nearer 6 again, and I STILL have 4 to go. It’s no wonder parents count in weeks during pregnancy and the first 4-6 months! 

So, I can only ascertain that I am a bit pregnant and while I’m unlikely to get any more or less so, I am likely to keep on being pregnant until, at some point, another baby is born. After either 9 or 10 months. Which will feel like approximately 25 years. 

Disclaimer: This is tongue in cheek…I actually stole the idea for this from Dave Gorman, I think. Maybe it was another comedian. It was a while ago. And I was probably asleep. I might be asleep now. The last 2 nights have been hard work with a poorly toddler. 

Leave a Reply

